State Standards

California Common Core State Standards (CCSS) 

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade.  In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.

Since 2010, a number of states across the nation have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards. Below you will find information about the standards and the CCSS-related activities taking place in California

What are the Common Core Standards?

English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects Publication (PDF)

Mathematics Publication (PDF)

En Español

Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS)

The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) are K–12 science content standards. Standards set the expectations for what students should know and be able to do. The NGSS were developed by states to improve science education for all students.At the base of the NGSS are three “dimensions” of science learning:

  • Science and Engineering Practices (SEP)

  • Crosscutting Concepts (CCC)

  • Disciplinary Core Ideas (DCI)

What is NGSS?

NGSS for California Public Schools

For more information about California standards in other content areas, please visit: